Ride your bike!

I’ve been meaning to create this blog for a while.  Unfortunately I also procrastinate a lot.  Anyway the reason I wanted to write this if to hopefully get more people on their bicycles.  The reasons abound on why you should ride:  improve your health, save money, clean the air , and on and on.    I will expand on  these themes in later posts and I’m sure there are many other blogs who talk about it.

However , the main reason I say to get on your bike is IT’S FUN!  I ride to work every day and although I will have a hard time saying going to work is fun, the ride in always is.  I nod to the people walking their dogs, I say hi to the joggers, and during the school year I race the kids to the next stop sign.   I see what’s going on in my town (Wallingford) and I get to work more awake than caffeine will make me.  I’m almost disappointed when I get there because I wish the ride was longer.  My co-workers think I’m crazy but I can’t understand why anyone would choose to sit in a metal box surrounded by other metal boxes so they can get to work and sit in another box.

Unfortunately I am cog in the great corporate machine that I despise.  They tell me what I have to do all day and determine when I have to be there.  But how I get there is up to me.  For that 20 minute ride I’m doing what I want.    For that short time I am a revolutionary.  Every morning and every night I feel good about what I am doing.

SO when I say ride you bike, I am trying to spread that feeling.  I’m trying to get more of us cyclists out there.  Try it. I think you’ll like.

This entry was posted in Alternate Transportation, Bicycle, Commuting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ride your bike!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

